AcroSync doesn't overwrite local files

edited January 7 in Acrosync for Windows
I'm evaluating AcroSync at the moment and doing some testing.
I've done the following steps.

1.  Created a local "test.txt" file in C:\src and ran AcroSync so it uploads to my NAS.  This completed successfully.
2.  I modified the test.txt file on the NAS and uploaded the file again from the PC using AcroSync.  The text file was overwritten correctly on the NAS.
3.  I set AcroSync to download the test.txt file to a new directory on my PC, C:\restore, and it downloaded the text file correctly.  The content of C:\restore\ was initially empty.
4.  I modified the local test.txt file on my PC under C:\restore\ (deleted a line in the file) and ran AcroSync to download the test.txt file again.  However, this time it didn't download any new files.  It concluded everything was "up to date".  Extract of logfile is below.  The files were different due to timestamps and content of the files.  I would have expected AcroSync to compare the timestamps and/or file content and updated the local copy on the PC.

Note that I'm running AcroSync as a service and the client (on Windows 10) was running as an Administrator.
Is there something I'm missing?  Or is this a bug in AcroSync?

2019/01/07 09:45:31    Acrosync for windows 1.7 build 600 initialized
2019/01/07 12:05:34    Downloading C:/restore/ from /volume1/Backup/Test/
2019/01/07 12:05:34    rsync command: rsync --server --modify-window=2 --sender --log-format=%n --links --recursive -tude. . /volume1/Backup/Test/
2019/01/07 12:05:34    Add pattern: - /.acrosync/
2019/01/07 12:05:34    Downloaded 0 files; total 3848899644 bytes, skipped 3848875068 bytes, received 0/0 bytes
2019/01/07 12:05:34    Downloaded C:/restore/: up to date

Thanks.

Comments

  • I just tried Step 2 again and the file was NOT uploaded to the NAS.  Acrosync concluded everything was "up to date".
    So, Step 2 should read:

    2.  I modified the test.txt file on the NAS and uploaded the file again
    from the PC using AcroSync.  The text file was NOT uploaded.  Acrosync concluded the NAS was "up to date", even though the files were different.  I would have expected AcroSync to compare the timestamps and/or file content and updated the file on the NAS.

    Can this be fixed?
  • Acrosync always enables the -u option for rsync, which means it will not transfer a file if the destination version is newer.  This is to guarantee that users will never accidentally overwrite a file that is more up-to-date.
  • edited January 9
    If Acrosync did two-way sync, I can understand the need for the "-u" option.
    However, as it only performs one-way sync, to me, it is more like a backup program.
    Hence, I think there should at least be an option to disable the "-u" option or set it to 'warn' so the backups are always consistent with the source files, even if the backup storage had been accidentally modified.
    As it stands, Acrosync can't guarantee what's been backed-up is an accurate copy of the source.
  • If you choose the 'Update destinations in-place' option Acrosync will not pass the '-u' option.
Sign In or Register to comment.